Robbinsdale Area Schools

Robbinsdale students received All-State Debate recognition

Robbinsdale students received All-State Debate recognition

Five Robbinsdale students competed at the 2024 Minnesota State High School League State Debate Tournament. The Robbinsdale Debate team has student representatives from both high schools. This was Robbinsdale Cooper's 20th consecutive trip to the state tournament and Robbinsdale Armstrong's 13th.

In Congressional Debate, all three Rdale students advanced to the final round. Cooper student Lily Plahn secured fifth place honors and teammate Tessa Lenoch, also from Cooper, took sixth place. Armstrong’s Alison Wandmacher earned eighth place honors. All three students, who are sophomores, made their first-ever appearance at the MSHSL State Tournament. 

This achievement extends to six consecutive years Robbinsdale's streak of having a student finish in the top five at the MSHSL State Tournament, including winning the last two events.

In Lincoln-Douglas debate, Armstrong Senior Lucy Dreyer finished the preliminary rounds with an impressive 5-1 record, earning her the top seed. Although she reached the quarter-finals, she ultimately lost to the competitor who would go on to become the MSHSL State Champion.

Three Robbinsdale students received All-State Debate recognition. Every year, the Minnesota Debate Teachers Association honors the top students in the state of Minnesota with this prestigious award. Lily Plahn and Alison Wandmacher were named All-State Debate recipients in Congressional Debate, while Lucy Dreyer received the honor in Lincoln-Douglas debate. This achievement extends Robbinsdale's record to 14 consecutive years with a student on the All-State Debate team, tying the district with two schools for the longest consecutive years in Minnesota debate history.